Malcolm Page named in AIS Hall of Fame

Australian sailor Malcolm Page has joined Australia’s sporting elite after being named a part of the Australian Institute of Sport’s (AIS) ‘Best of the Best’ Hall of Fame.

Page’s achievements on the water have been outstanding with the 470 class crew the reigning Olympic Gold medalist and the most successful 470 sailor in history following his five World Championship wins.

Page and his skipper Mathew Belcher are the reigning 470 world champions, along with Australian, European and North American champions and have won back-to-back ISAF Sailing World Cup titles.

Page was one of five athletes who were added to the AIS’s ‘Best of the Best’ list with Ricky Ponting (Cricket), Matt Cowdrey (Swimming), Jamie Dwyer (Hockey) and Anna Meares (cycling) also named, with this year’s announcement coinciding with the AIS’s 30th anniversary.

“Being named in the AIS Hall of Fame is special, very special,” said Page. “The AIS has a long history in all sports and has a wealth of very successful athletes, so to be named on that list is very honourable.

“Growing up as a kid the AIS was always something amazing and now that I get to wear that uniform and work and compete alongside the best is very special.

“When you start competing and then go out and do it everyday it’s not to be named on a list like this but it’s nice to be recognised for what you’ve done and to be a part of such a special group,” said Page.

The ‘Best of the Best’ was created in 2002, the year in which the AIS celebrated its 21st birthday, with 21 athletes inducted as part of the inaugural list. A further four were added in 2006 to coincide with the Institute’s 25th anniversary.

Page joins an impressive list of names already recognised including Glenn McGrath, Louise Sauvage, Lauren Jackson and Robert de Castella.

Page is currently in Melbourne preparing for the opening round of the ISAF Sailing World Cup, Sail Melbourne, with racing set to begin on Monday.

For more information on the Australian Sailing Team visit and follow the team on Twitter at