New Board Directors for BIA Victoria

New Board Directors for BIA Victoria

The Boating Industry Association (BIA) of Victoria has elected three new Directors to its Board.

Leisure Boating Club Melbourne general manager Joy King takes over from Mark Bradley in the Clubs, Services and Associations division.

Joy’s background is in credit management, and since establishing the Leisure Boating franchise in 2005, she has established the company firmly in the Melbourne market and has been a regular boat show exhibitor.

JV Marine World’s boat sales and divisional manager Mark Stav takes the place of Keith Corr in the Boat Dealers division.

Mark officially began work in his family’s business in 1992 at age 20 as a boat salesman.

He has been involved in countless boat shows and marine related events and follows in the footsteps of his father John, who spent 12 years on the BIA board.

Another family succession is in the Chandleries, Accessories and Equipment division, where naval architect Andy Warner was elected to the position vacated by his brother Chris.

Andy has a lifetime of small boat experience and is currently chairman of board of directors of Anchor Marine, a position he has held for seven years.

He has held numerous marine roles throughout his 30-year career in the industry and is a Member of Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME).

The recent elections follow the mid-year election of Whittley Marine Group export marketing manager Marianne Whittley to fill the Manufacturing, Wholesaling and Distribution division position previously held by Michael Blair.

Marianne has represented the industry on the Industry Advisory Committee to the Australian Marine Industry Committee; the Marine Industry Advisory Committee to the Marine Safety Victoria; and the 2004 Victorian Marine Industry Ministerial Task Force.

Tertiary trained in business and marketing, she has been directly involved for more than 20 years in boat shows, CE and NMMA certification, marketing and public relations.

The complete membership of the 10-member Board is: Gordon Howlett (President), David Heyes (Vice-President), Peter Cleland, Darren Finkelstein, Irene Hoe, Joy King, Rod Smith, Mark Stav, Andrew Warner and Marianne Whittley.